List of Chief Ministers of Karnataka and their Tenures

Siddharamaiah holding an official document in hand and standing with another politician

Karnataka, earlier known as Mysore, has seen the reign of many influential chief ministers over time. These political figures have contributed immensely to the state’s development and growth. Most of you might not know about all the chief ministers of Karnataka. If it is so, it is not a subject of worry!

Here, we have provided a comprehensive list of all the CMs who have served the Karnataka state. We have covered everything along with the names, the party to which they belong and their tenure periods.

Additionally, we have mentioned some important facts related to this subject in this post. Similar to the post on the Delhi Chief Ministers list, you will get detailed information here. So, without further ado, let’s begin!

Karnataka CMs, their Political Parties and their Tenures 

Post-independence, the Indian state Karnataka has seen a total of 24 chief ministers. Mostly, the Indian National Congress (INC) party has ruled the state. Other than INC, CMs from BJP, JNP and JDS have also joined the list.

Sr. NoChief Minister NameStarting DateEnding DatePolitical Party
1K. Chengalaraya Reddy25 Oct 1947 30 Mar 1952 Indian National Congress
2K. Hanumanthaiah 30 Mar 1952 19 Aug 1956 Indian National Congress
3Kadidal Manjappa 19 Aug 1956 31 Oct 1956 Indian National Congress
4S. Nijalingappa 01 Nov 1956 16 May 1958 Indian National Congress
5B. D. Jatti 16 May 1958 09 Mar 1962 Indian National Congress
6S. R. Kanthi 14 Mar 1962 20 Jun 1962 Indian National Congress
7S. Nijalingappa 21 Jun 1962 28 May 1968 Indian National Congress
8Veerendra Patil 29 May 1968 18 Mar 1971 Indian National Congress
9President's Rule 19 Mar 1971 20 Mar 1972 -
10D. Devaraj Urs 20 Mar 1972 31 Dec 1977 Indian National Congress
11President's Rule 31 Dec 1977 28 Feb 1978 -
12D. Devaraj Urs 28 Feb 1978 07 Jan 1980 Indian National Congress
13R. Gundu Rao 12 Jan 1980 06 Jan 1983 Indian National Congress
14Ramakrishna Hegde 10 Jan 1983 29 Dec 1984 Janata Party (JNP)
15Ramakrishna Hegde 08 Mar 1985 13 Feb 1986 Janata Party (JNP)
16Ramakrishna Hegde 16 Feb 1986 10 Aug 1988 Janata Party (JNP)
17S. R. Bommai 13 Aug 1988 21 Apr 1989 Janata Party (JNP)
18President's Rule 21 Apr 1989 30 Nov 1989 -
19Veerendra Patil 30 Nov 1989 10 Oct 1990 Indian National Congress
20President's Rule 10 Oct 1990 17 Oct 1990 -
21S. Bangarappa 17 Oct 1990 19 Nov 1992 Indian National Congress
22M. Veerappa Moily 19 Nov 1992 11 Dec 1994 Indian National Congress
23H. D. Deve Gowda 11 Dec 1994 31 May 1996 Janata Dal (JD)
24J. H. Patel 31 May 1996 07 Oct 1999 Janata Dal (JD)
25S. M. Krishna 11 Oct 1999 28 May 2004 Indian National Congress
26Dharam Singh 28 May 2004 28 Jan 2006 Indian National Congress
27H. D. Kumaraswamy 03 Feb 2006 08 Oct 2007 Janata Dal Secular
28President's Rule 09 Oct 2007 11 Nov 2007 -
29B. S. Yeddiyurappa 12 Nov 2007 19 Nov 2007 Bharatiya Janata Party
30President's Rule 20 Nov 2007 27 May 2008
31B. S. Yediyurappa30 May 2008 31 Jul 2011 Bharatiya Janata Party
32D. V. Sadananda Gowda 04 Aug 2011 12 Jul 2012 Bharatiya Janata Party
33Jagadish Shettar 12 Jul 2012 12 May 2013 Bharatiya Janata Party
34Siddaramaiah 13 May 2013 15 May 2018 Indian National Congress
35B. S. Yeddiyurappa 17 May 2018 23 May 2018 Bharatiya Janata Party
36H. D. Kumaraswamy 23 May 2018 23 Jul 2019 Janata Dal Secular
37B. S. Yeddiyurappa 26 Jul 2019 28 Jul 2021 Bharatiya Janata Party
38Basavaraj Bommai 28 Jul 2021 15 May 2023 Bharatiya Janata Party
39Siddaramaiah 20 May 2023 Present Indian National Congress

Lesser Known Facts About the CMs of Karnataka 

Here are some facts about the chief ministerial figures in the political history of Karnataka:

  • K Chengalaraya Reddy of the Indian National Congress party served as the first Chief Minister of Karnataka. His tenure lasted from 25 October 1947 to 30 March 1952.
  • After renaming the state to Karnataka, Devaraj Arasu became the first CM. He served the state for 2 terms from 1972 to 1977 & 1978 to 1980.
  • Shri H.D Deve Gowda resigned from his CM post to become the 11th Prime Minister of India.
  • Karnataka CM B.D Jatti got an opportunity to serve as the 5th Vice President of India.
  • Veerendra Patil, a CM from Karnataka served the state with the longest gap (18 years+) between his two tenures.
  • BJP got his first CM for the state in the name of B.S. Yediyurappa. Also, he became the CM for 4 times in the years 2007, 2008, 2018 and 2019. He was the 4th longest serving CM and his cumulative tenure lasted for 5 years and 75 days.
  • From the JNP party, S.R. Bommai served as the chief minister and his son Basavaraj Bommai also served as the CM from the BJP. Also, Basavaraj also served as the caretaker CM for the state.
  • Karnataka has seen 6 instances of President’s Rule and the most recent one was from 2007-2008.

Current CM of Karnataka 

Currently, Siddaramaiah is serving as the chief minister of Karnataka. In the past, he served the South Indian state from 2013 to 2018.

karnataka assembly elections 2023 logo


And now, he again grabbed the CM position after his party, INC, won the 2023 Karnataka Legislative Assembly elections with a big margin.

Since he took the CM charge, Siddaramaiah has made many bold decisions for Karnataka’s welfare. Due to this, he always remains in the limelight among the state people.

After the election results, DK Shivakumar was made the deputy CM, a decision taken during the Congress Legislative Party meeting.


So, this is the list of Chief Ministers of Karnataka along with their tenure periods. All these prominent politicians have made a significant contribution to the state’s growth. Above all, they have greatly influenced the state’s politics for the better.

Piyush Chugh

I am Piyush Chugh and I have been a content writer for more than 5 years now. During this time, I have tried to create informative and interesting content that would be beneficial for my readers. My aim is to help people in every possible way through the written word.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *